Please remember to submit your nominee for this new award to Doug Fread by email or personal contact by January 1, 2015.
Proposed ‘Service above Self’ Award
Awards Committee of the Rotary Club of St. Marys
It is proposed that:
1.            The St. Marys Rotary Club initiate an award called the Rotary Club of St. Marys
“Service above Self” Award;
2.            The Award will be separate from the Paul Harris award or any other presently existing award at the District or International level of Rotary;
3.            The Award will honour those Rotarians who have given the most exemplary service to our club, to the community and the principles of Rotary;
4.            Recipients of the award will be nominated by the club members but chosen by a committee of three.  (Note: the reason for the ‘committee’ is to keep the award a secret from the recipient until it is presented);
5.            Members of the committee will serve a maximum of three years and will not be eligible to receive an award while a committee member.  The first committee members will service a term of 1, 2 and 3 years respectively;
6.            The award will be a plaque to be hung at Rotary Hall, with a replica given to the recipient;
7.            The award will be presented at the Rural Urban program and will be a significant part of the evening. This way the recipient will receive the attention deserved in front of a large audience and the press;
8.            The idea is to keep the award special and the most coveted award that our club can offer.  Only outstanding candidates will receive it and not necessarily every year;
9.            The award will be unique because:
                             i)             It will only be received as a result of service to Rotary
                            ii)             It will be chosen by the recipients’ peers within our club              
10.          Proposed first committee:
              . Len Hawkins               - 1 year
              . Bob Stephens             - 2 year
              . Doug Fread                 - 3 year
               First Chair-           Doug Fread
11.          The first award will be at the 2015 Rural Urban.
12.          Nominations will be received January 1 each year for the Rural Urban in that year.